How to Grow Tobacco

How to grow and process tobacco at home for personal use. This is a non-commercial hobby website.
Tobacco Picture Gallery Click Here
It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:36 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Storing v Aging
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 1:04 pm 

firstly I'm new to the growing scene, and I'm enjoying the website. Good to see a few Brits involved. that said, I'm slightly confused by the storing articles.

I've been pipe smoking for some 30 years, and have some tobaccos nearly as old. When I store/age it, its stored in sealed airtight containers to encourage anaerobic bacteria and to maintain moisture content. Even my cigars are stored in airtight boxes with beads controlling humidity.

Here reading a few threads its a case of leaving it exposed to the air it seems.

Why the difference?

Post subject: Re: Storing v Aging
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 1:48 pm 

pyrotech wrote:
firstly I'm new to the growing scene, and I'm enjoying the website. Good to see a few Brits involved. that said, I'm slightly confused by the storing articles.

I've been pipe smoking for some 30 years, and have some tobaccos nearly as old. When I store/age it, its stored in sealed airtight containers to encourage anaerobic bacteria and to maintain moisture content. Even my cigars are stored in airtight boxes with beads controlling humidity.

Here reading a few threads its a case of leaving it exposed to the air it seems.

Why the difference?

Don't quote me on this but I believe the reasoning is as follows.

By leaving it in the air the humidity is much lower. As the chlorophyll breaks down forming ammonia, it evaporates and as a result, the chances of mould forming are much lower. Tobacco left to age is very dry and when being prepared to smoke; it is brought back to case with distilled water. Storing it in air tight containers is how you keep it when it is ready to smoke but, it won't age in them.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2009 8:11 pm