How to Grow Tobacco

How to grow and process tobacco at home for personal use. This is a non-commercial hobby website.
Tobacco Picture Gallery Click Here
It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 10:00 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: newbie
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 1:14 pm 

hi everyone, im new to all of this and planning to grow small amounts of golden virginia next year! my only problem is the fermenting part.
the electricoty bill is none of my concern as the last people to live at my house decided to modify the meter box so i only use about 10p every 2 days!

would I be abil to turn one of these mini fridge into a tiny kiln things?? heres the link http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Portable-Mini-6-Can-Beverage-Fridge-Cooler-Warmer-Car-Boat-Home-Ac-Dc-W-Shelf-/111797875666?hash=item1a07ac33d2:g:RC8AAOSwYHxWH0PK

watcha guy's think????

Post subject: Re: newbie
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 3:46 pm 

Bigger is better.
rc

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 7:24 pm 

looks like a great idea to me...

I have to agree with rusty though, I wished it was a lot bigger... they make the same kind of thing that's up to like 32 quarts... maybe bigger.

looks like something I might be trying.

The fridge I am using is working pretty good but it's difficult to keep the temperature constant with the crock pot. Something like that that heats with a thermostat would be much less trouble.
I guess humidity would be another issue but I would think that since it's sealed once you get it warmed up and establish the proper humidity it wouldn't be difficult to keep it somewhat constant.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 3:13 am 

rustycase wrote:
Bigger is better.
rc

i can get something a little bigger but I will only be growing small amounts as a test run

if i had that mini fridge woud i be abil to modify it so the heat from the fridge itself would go inside and the cold to go out of the fridge?? like just turn the wiring over??? if you get what i mean :lol: