How to Grow Tobacco

How to grow and process tobacco at home for personal use. This is a non-commercial hobby website.
Tobacco Picture Gallery Click Here
It is currently Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:42 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: The Backyard Farmer!
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 9:00 am 

I just set up 5 raised beds, at 36 sq. feet each and plan on practicing "square foot gardening" (still need to create the grid over each one this weekend). I have 180 square feet, or 180 "squares" to work with, so that's a substantial amount of food to be grown. I used to plant based on seed packet recommendations, but for small home gardeners this isn't practical and wastes a lot of space by growing strictly in rows.

I'm still a newbie when it comes to gardening (this is my 4th year). With food prices rising (or rather, packages shrinking while prices remain the same) I feel passionately about people growing their own food. I'm creating raised beds for friends and family and getting them jump started, even if it's only 8 sq. feet of space. I have a 72 peat pot greenhouse under grow lights starting lots of seedlings (along with tobacco of course!!) to get an early start on the season. I live in Rhode Island and we have a fairly tight season for growing so it's imperative to get as much started early as possible.

So far I highly recommend raised bed gardening. I did a test bed last year for my inlaws that worked amazingly better than anything I was growing. My wife also likes the fact it just LOOKS organized, and not just a bunch of dirt piles with stuff growing out of 'em! I used naturally rot-resistant Cedar boards and for a 36 sq. foot bed it cost me about $30 for the wood. That's the cheap part. Filling that with good soil is the expensive part. At places like Home Depot, you'll be paying $5+ per cubic foot of soil. Not very cost effective!