How to Grow Tobacco

How to grow and process tobacco at home for personal use. This is a non-commercial hobby website.
Tobacco Picture Gallery Click Here
It is currently Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Picking a strain
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:23 pm 

Ok, I'm back. Last year ir didn't work, all my seedling got strangled by weeds. This time I'm going to use sterilized soil and transplant yhem when they're bigger.

But first, I need to pick the kind of tobacco that is best for me, and I need some help to do that.

First, it has to be easy to grow and in a mediterranean climate. I have some experience in farm working but no experience with tobacco in particular (except last years' failed attempt).

I live on the western coast of the Italian peninsula at some 100ft elevation and a couple of miles from the shore. Low and flat soil, kind of "dusty" when dry. Not really sandy, more like fine dust. Climate is, well, medierranean. Warm humid summers, not really hot but feels hotter because of hunidity. There's no "real" winter, temperatures can go below freezing once or twice a month between november and february, but it's not much below freezing and only for a couple of hours early in the morning. No snow, no ice except some rare morning frost, and temperatures mostly above freezing. It can get grey and rainy, but that's all the "winter" we have. (On the coast, that is. Up on the mountains it's a very different story.)

As for my taste in tobacco, I used to smoke dark tobacco cigarettes (Gauloises and other French brands) they they stopped selling them because the nicotine and tar content was too high for the new laws. I tried regular "blondes" but I couldn't get any satisfaction, not even removing the filter (filterless cigarettes are also banned, now).