How to Grow Tobacco

How to grow and process tobacco at home for personal use. This is a non-commercial hobby website.
Tobacco Picture Gallery Click Here
It is currently Sun Sep 24, 2017 10:43 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Producing Swedish snus
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:09 am 

Hi, I'm all new to both this forum and the tobacco growing world.
A quick intro for who I am. I'm from Helsingborg Sweden (it's in the South). Since the weather here isn't ideal I had to start my seedlings inside, in the window sill (I have to appologize if my english is bad, all these terms hasn't really sinked in yet, anyways). My plants are now approx 6 weeks old and seem to do well. Was thinking of planting in a raised bed soil thingie when it's time for them to go outside. The growing and tending seems pretty straight forward as I've studied alot on this fine forum and I have some pre knowledge.
My biggest problem right now is the processing after harvest, since that's all new to me.
I only have 12 plants (10 black mammoth, 2 virginia gold (yeah I know, the virg gold didn't sprout very well)) so it's gonna be a quite modest harvest, but that's the way it is. Of course I wanna try cigarettes, cigars but most of my harvest will go to producing Swedish snus. You all might already know what snus is (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Snus) but there's the link.
So does any of You out there have a "how-to" for fermenting and so on?
I'm pretty much following all the way up until after the color curing (drying the leaves). My thoughts right now are to make a kiln (styrofoam box with a light bulb etc...) to get it up to 50-70 degrees (centigrade), well vetilated and leave it there for a couple of days. I've heard 5 days might be enough and people do it in their kitchen stove (NOT an option! in a 30 sq m apartment). Is this step with full leaves or should they be grinded or doesn't it matter?